American Chemical Society North Jersey Section

Friday, December 8, 2017 • 12:00 noon – 5:00 pm

Rutgers University Inn & Conference Center 178 Ryders Lane, New Brunswick, NJ 08901



The North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society established the Baekeland Award in 1944 to commemorate the technical and industrial achievements of Leo Hendrik Baekeland and to encourage younger chemists to emulate his example. The award is presented biennially to a United States-based chemist under 40 years of age in recognition of accomplishments in pure or industrial chemistry, as characterized by the initiative, creativeness, leadership, and perseverance of the individual and indicated by published or unpublished evidence.

Agenda

- 12:00 Registration / Snacks
- 12:30 Welcome Address Dr. Miriam Gulotta, Baekeland Symposium Chair
- 12:40 **Professor Christopher A. Alabi** Coupling Molecular Design to Structure and Activity of Sequence-Defined Macromolecules
- 1:20 **Professor Natalia Shustova** Fulleretic Materials for Directional Energy Transfer
- 2:00 **Professor Jeffrey S. Moore** Organic Chemistry at the Interface of Materials and Mechanics
- 2:40 Break / Refreshments
- 3:20 **Professor Timothy M. Swager** Dynamically-Reconfigurable Complex Emulsions
- 4:00 Baekeland Award Presentation Dr. Landon Greene, NJ-ACS Section Chair
- 4:10 **Keynote: Professor William R. Dichtel** Covalent Organic Frameworks as a Platform for Molecular Assembly
- 4:50 Closing Remarks Dr. Les McQuire, NJ-ACS Awards Chair



William R. Dichtel, PhD Robert L. Letsinger Professor of Chemistry Northwestern University Keynote Speaker 2017 Baekeland Award Winner



Timothy M. Swager, PhD John D. Mac Arthur Professor of Chemistry Massachusetts Institute of Technology



Jeffrey S. Moore, PhD Murchison-Mallory Professor of Chemistry University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Natalia Shustova, PhD Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry University of South Carolina

Christopher A. Alabi, PhD Assistant Professor and Nancy and Peter Meinig Family Investigator in the Life Sciences Cornell University



Registration Fee: \$15 professionals; \$5 students, retirees, unemployed Online registration required by Nov 22 Dec 4, 2017 at www.njacs.org/backeland due to limited seating **Note:** Students will be refunded \$5 at the symposium, so their registration will be effectively free

www.njacs.org

Questions? Contact Dr. Miriam Gulotta (mgulotta@njacs.org), Chair of the Baekeland Award Committee Organizing Committee: Miriam Gulotta (Chair), Alan Cooper, Jackie Erickson, Marilyn Gorman, Landon Greene, Bettyann Howson, Ron Kong, Diane Krone, Les McQuire, Monica Sekharan, Bill Suits