American Chemical Society North Jersey Section 2019 Baekeland Award Symposium



Friday, November 15, 2019 • 1:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham Campus, The Mansion, Lenfel Hall
285 Madison Avenue, Madison NJ 07940



The North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society established the Baekeland Award in 1944 to commemorate the technical and industrial achievements of Leo Hendrik Baekeland and to encourage younger chemists to emulate his example. The award is presented biennially to a United States-based chemist under 40 years of age in recognition of accomplishments in pure or industrial chemistry, as characterized by the initiative, creativeness, leadership, and perseverance of the individual and indicated by published or unpublished evidence.

Agenda

- 1:00 Registration
- 1:30 **Welcome Address**Dr Cecilia Marzabadi, *Baekeland Symposium Chair*
- 1:40 **Professor Sidney M. Hecht**Protein Synthesis with Non-canonical Amino Acids In

 Vitro and In Vivo
- 2:20 **Professor Dinshaw Patel**Structural Biology of CRISPR-Cas Surveillance Complexes
- 3:00 **Professor Amanda Garner**Chemical Probing of Coding and Non-Coding RNA
 Biology
- 3:40 Break / Refreshments
- 4:10 **Professor James P. Collman**From Theory to Practice: Invention of Reversible
 Respiration Inhibitors
- 4:50 **Remarks and Baekeland Award Presentation**Dr. Katherine Lee, *ACS Director, District 1*Dr. Amjad Ali, *NJ-ACS Section Chair*
- 5:00 **Keynote: Professor Neal K. Devaraj**Exploring the Lipid World
- 5:50 Closing Remarks
 Dr. Les McQuire, NJ-ACS Awards Chair

Speakers



Neal K. Devaraj, PhD
Professor of Chemistry
University of California, San Diego
Keynote Speaker
2019 Baekeland Award Winner



Sidney M. Hecht, PhD

Director, Biodesign Center for BioEnergetics

Professor, School of Molecular Sciences

Arizona State University



Dinshaw Patel, PhD

Professor and Abby Rockefeller Mauzé Chair in Experimental Therapeutics Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Sloan Kettering Institute



Amanda Garner, PhD

Assistant Professor of Medicinal Chemistry College of Pharmacy, University of Michigan



James P. Collman, PhD George A. and Hilda M. Daubert Professor of Chemistry, Emeritus Stanford University



www.njacs.org

Registration Fee: \$15 professionals; \$5 students, retirees, unemployed Online registration required by November 8, 2019 at www.njacs.org/baekeland due to limited seating. Campus Directions: www.njacs.org/fdu-florham-directions