American Chemical Society-North Jersey Section 2021 Baekeland Award Symposium



Thursday, May 12, 2022 • 1:00 pm – 6:00pm
Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham Campus, The Mansion, Lenfel Hall
285 Madison Avenue, Madison NJ 07940



The North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society established the Baekeland Award in 1944 to commemorate the technical and industrial achievements of Leo Hendrik Baekeland and to encourage younger chemists to emulate his example. The award is presented biennially to a United States-based chemist under 40 years of age in recognition of accomplishments in pure or industrial chemistry, as characterized by the initiative, creativeness, leadership, and perseverance of the individual and indicated by published or unpublished evidence. Professor Prashant K. Jain is being recognized for his research in harnessing light as a source of energy to control the attributes and functions of advanced materials.

Agenda

- 1:00 Registration
- 1:30 **Welcome Address**Dr Qi Gao, *Baekeland Symposium Chair*
- 1:40 **Professor George Schatz**Nanoparticles, Plasmons and Theory
- 2:20 **Professor Naomi Halas**Nanomaterials and Light for Sustainability and Societal
 Impact
- 3:00 **Professor Robert W. Field**Broken Patterns of Broken Patterns
- 3:40 Break / Refreshments
- 4:10 **Professor Paul Weiss**Plasmonic Approaches to Biology and Medicine
- 4:50 Remarks and Baekeland Award Presentation Dr. Natalie LaFranzo, ACS Director-At-Large Dr. Qi Gao, NJ-ACS Section Chair
- 5:00 **Keynote: Professor Prashant Jain**The Photification of Chemical Manufacturing
- 5:50 Closing Remarks
 Mrs. Diane Krone, NJ-ACS Awards Chair



Professor of Chemistry and Alumni Scholar University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Keynote Speaker 2021 Baekeland Awardee



George Schatz, PhD

Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and of Chemical and Biological Engineering Northwestern University



Naomi Halas, PhD

Stanley C. Moore Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Physics & Astronomy Rice University



Robert W. Field, PhD

Professor of Chemistry
Post-Tenure
Massachusetts Institute of Technology



Paul Weiss, PhD

UC Presidential Chair Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Bioengineering Distinguished Professor of Materials Science University of California, Los Angeles



Registration Fee: \$15 professionals; \$5 students, retirees, unemployed Online registration required by May 1, 2022 at www.njacs.org/baekeland due to limited seating. Campus Directions: www.njacs.org/fdu-florham-directions