2013 Baekeland Award Symposium

Friday, December 6, 2013 • 12:00 noon – 6:30 pm

Center for Integrative Proteomics Research • Room 120 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey • 174 Frelinghuysen Rd • Piscataway, NJ 08854



The North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society established the Baekeland Award in 1944 to commemorate the technical and industrial achievements of Leo Hendrik Baekeland and to encourage younger chemists to emulate his example. The award consists of a gold medal and a \$5,000 honorarium. The North Jersey Section presents the Award biennially to a US-based chemist under 40 years of age in recognition of accomplishments in pure or industrial chemistry, as characterized by the initiative, creativeness, leadership, and perseverance of the individual and indicated by published or unpublished evidence.

Agenda

- 12:00 Registration / Snacks
- 12:30 **Welcome Address**Dr. Monica Sekharan, Baekeland Symposium Chair
- 12:40 **Prof. Ken Raymond** *The Bacterial-Human Competition for Iron*
- 1:30 **Prof. JoAnne Stubbe**Manganese Ribonucleotide Reductases:

 Role in Pathogenesis
- 2:20 **Prof. David MacMillan** *Photoredox Catalysis in Organic Synthesis*
- 3:10 Break / Refreshments
- 3:40 **Prof. Michelle Chang**Synthetic Biology Approaches to New Chemistry
- 4:30 Baekeland Award Presentation
 Dr. Jefferson Tilley, NJ-ACS Section Chair
- 4:40 **Keynote: Prof. Christopher Chang** *Molecular Imaging Approaches to Mapping and Studying Chemistry in the Brain*
- 5:30 Closing remarks
 Dr. Ron Kong, NJ-ACS Awards Chair
- 5:45 Reception

Speakers



Christopher Chang, PhD
University of California, Berkeley
2013 Baekeland Award Winner
Keynote Speaker



Michelle Chang, PhD University of California, Berkeley



David MacMillan, PhDPrinceton University



Ken Raymond, PhDUniversity of California, Berkeley



JoAnne Stubbe, PhD Massachusetts Institute of Technology



